California Motorcycle Safety

Couple riding motorcycle

For almost 60 years, the Pacific Safety Center has specialized in on-site, customized safety solutions for Southern California.

As a CMSP affiliate, we are proud to offer one of the largest and most highly respected Safety Education programs- the California Motorcyclist Safety Program (CMSP). This is the official CHP approved and Motorcycle Safety Foundation accredited, state-wide program designed to increase motorcycle safety on California's streets and highways.





Which Course is Right for Me?

Basic RiderCourse
(BRC)
Basic RiderCourse 2 - Skills Practice
(BRC2-SP)

[formerly ERC]

Advanced RiderCourse
(ARC)

[formerly ARC-ST]
Waives Motorcycle Driver Test at DMV with issuance of DL389 Yes No No
For Brand New Riders-(must be able to ride a bicycle) Yes No No
Motorcycle and Helmet Provided Yes No No
Ride Own Motorcycle and Wear Own Helmet and Gear Conditions apply * Yes+ Yes+
Meets Military Base Requirements Yes Yes Yes
Challenge Factor

How much experience should I have before this class?

None to some Comfortable with your bike Very comfortable and ready to learn!
Fun Factor

The more you learn, the more fun riding will be!

High Very High Mucho Grande High!

*Own motorcycle must be 500cc's or less, have proof of registration and insurance, and pass T-CLOCKS inspection. Helmet must be DOT approved.

+ Any motorcycle may be used for the BRC2-SP and ARC. Must have proof of registration and insurance, and pass T-CLOCKS inspection. Helmet must be DOT approved and riding gear in good condition.

California State Law

In the state of California, all riders under 21 years of age must successfully complete the Basic RiderCourse course in order to obtain a motorcycle license or endorsement from the DMV. The motorcycle practical exam given by the DMV may be waived with this certification. Graduates may also qualify for insurance premium discounts with some motorcycle insurers.

Military Personnel: the MSF Course Completion wallet card meets military base requirements.

Motorcycle Safety Program Facility Maps/Directions

To ensure you are on time, we request that you show up at least 15-30 minutes prior to the start time of each session

BRC Fees

Under the age of 21 = $150 per rider
Age 21 and older = $250 per rider

BRC2-SP [ERC] Fees

$125 per rider

ARC Fees

$175 per rider

CMSP
Torch_Awards_bug_winner_2010_resize
PSC is the proud recipient of the 2012 Winner of the San Diego Better Business Bureau Torch Award for Marketplace Ethics in the charity/non-profit category. PSC was also a winner in 2007, 2010 and a finalist in 2009.

Torch_Awards_bug_winner_2010_resize